Smartphone / GPS (Shetland, Écosse)

Une application s'appuyant sur Google Maps avec des informations audio et visuelles sur les géosites des Shetland... Download for Android on Google Play!

Smartphone design mock-up.  Copyright ZolkC Smartphone design mock-up. Copyright ZolkC Le Geopark Shetland a développé un certain nombre de panneaux, d'affichages et d'expositions interprétatifs sur l'art géologique dans les îles. Vous pouvez accéder à plus d'informations sur le site web du Geopark Shetland.

Grind o da Navir, Eshaness. Copyright Shetland Geotours Grind o da Navir, Eshaness. Copyright Shetland Geotours Alors qu'il existe toujours des possibilités de continuer à développer une interprétation de ce type sur le site, l'infrastructure existante est suffisante pour permettre de passer à d'autres types d'interprétations et d'avoir une approche plus expérimentale. Il est important de trouver un équilibre entre l'interprétation sur-site et l'impact paysager. Les avancées dans le domaine des technologies numériques et du téléphone portable offrent l'opportunité d’élaborer une interprétation utilisant une gamme de supports médiatiques différents - audio, visuels et textuels - afin de relier les sites apparentés et de rendre l'information disponible dans un format portatif pour que les utilisateurs y accèdent à leur propre rythme. Ces informations peuvent être modifiées et complétées dans le temps, ce qui rend ce support viable sur le long terme.

Dans cette section

À Propos Des Shetland - Informations Générales

Les Shetland situées au carrefour de l'Atlantique Nord, s’étendent à une distance égale aussi bien de la Norvège et des îles Féroé que du territoire du Royaume-Uni, ce qui lui confère un patrimoine et une culture uniques ainsi que des paysages exceptionnels. Les Shetland faisaient partie de la Scandinavie jusqu'en 1469 et bien des traces de cet héritage se retrouvent aujourd'hui dans les noms de lieux, l'archéologie, la musique, le folklore et le dialecte. - En savoir plus...

À Propos Des Shetland - Vue d'Ensemble De La Géologie

Presque toute la géologie des hautes terres d'Écosse est représentée dans le Geopark Shetland, à laquelle viennent s'ajouter des particularités comme l'ophiolite des Shetland – lambeau à nu de l'ancien plancher océanique - à Unst et Fetlar, les roches volcaniques d'Eshaness et de Papa Stour et le magnifique tombolo de l'île de St-Ninian. - En savoir plus...

Vue d'ensemble du projet

Le Geopark Shetland et Shetland LEADER développeront une application de recherche cartographique pour Android et Iphone basée sur les géosites des Shetland. L'application introduira les utilisateurs au « Geopark Shetland » et mettra en avant le concept et les objectifs du Geopark. - En savoir plus...

Point sur l'avancement

A list of progress reports detailing the progress so far - En savoir plus...

Découvertes

An overview of various findings from different stages of the project, from getting started and developing the structure of the app, to creating the content and using and understanding the technologies available - En savoir plus...

Galerie

A selection of images from the Geopark Shetland project - En savoir plus...

Liens

Links to relevant websites, including geopark information, tourism websites and links to our funders - En savoir plus...

Nous Contacter

Get in touch with us if you have any questions or queries about the project - En savoir plus...

Smartphone / GPS (Shetland, Scotland)

A Google Maps based app with audio and visual information about Shetland’s geosites available on Android from Google Play and on iPhone from iTunes Unst geowall and panel Unst geowall and panel

Geopark Shetland has completed a number of interpretive panels, displays and geo-art exhibits in the islands.  Details can be found on the Geopark Shetland website.

While there is scope to continue developing on-site interpretation of this kind, the existing infrastructure is sufficient to allow a move into new kinds of interpretation and a more experimental approach. It is important to strike a balance between on-site interpretation and landscape impact. Advances in digital, and mobile phone technology provide an opportunity to create interpretation using a range of media – audio, visual and textual – to link related sites and to make information available in a portable format for users to access at their own pace.  This information can be changed and added to over time, making it sustainable in the longer term.

In This Section

About Shetland - General Info

Shetland is at the crossroads of the North Atlantic, lying as close to Norway and Faeroe as it is to mainland UK, giving it a unique heritage and culture and a stunning landscape. Shetland was a part of Scandinavia until 1469 and much of this heritage is still evident today, in its place names, archaeology, music, folklore and dialect. - More...

About Shetland - Geological Overview

Virtually all of Highland Scotland’s geology is represented in Geopark Shetland together with unique features such as the Shetland ophiolite – an exposed section of ancient ocean-bed - in Unst and Fetlar, the volcanic rocks of Eshaness and Papa Stour, and the beautiful St Ninian’s Isle tombolo. - More...

Project Overview

Geopark Shetland and Shetland LEADER will develop a map based application for Android and Iphone based around geosites in Shetland. The application will introduce users to ‘Geopark Shetland’, and highlight the concept and aims of the Geopark. - More...

Progress Diary

A list of progress reports detailing the progress so far - More...

Lessons Learned

An overview of various findings from different stages of the project, from getting started and developing the structure of the app, to creating the content and using and understanding the technologies available - More...

Gallery

A selection of images from the Geopark Shetland project - More...

Links

Links to relevant websites, including geopark information, tourism websites and links to our funders - More...

Contact Us

Get in touch with us if you have any questions or queries about the project - More...